Trailer: Jane Eyre

Despite the fact that Jane Eyre is one of my favorite books, I have not seen a film adaptation of it. There are, in fact, several, and next year, another one will be added to the list. This one has been in the works for some time, and, if memory serves, went through a number of permutations before all was settled. The finished project will star Mia Wasikowska (Burton’s Alice) and Michael Fassbender (Inglorious Basterds, not yet widely famous, but gaining traction), with Judi Dench in a supporting role to lend some proper cred.

Now, the casting of the leads was something that left me quite skeptical, as both Wasikowska and Fassbender are, ordinarily, really quite pretty; and as “romantic” as Jane Eyre is, it’s kind of a big point that neither Jane nor Rochester is particularly anything to look at. However! Behold a trailer. Sorry, can’t figure out how to embed. Anyway. Behold me, excited. This looks good. The leads have been appropriately unprettified, the mood is dark, and, well, it just looks excellent. There’s hope yet. This will, barring terrible reviews, find my butt in a seat. And you?

3 responses to “Trailer: Jane Eyre

  1. Well you already know how I feel 🙂 It’s terrible that they remove the trailer… took me a while to embed that into my blog and then poof, it’s gone!! Anyhoo, you have GOT to check out the 1983 BBC version… the production isn’t very good but Dalton’s portrayal as Rochester makes it more than worthwhile. I LOVE the proposal scene… the dialog is almost verbatim to the book and the delivery is just perfect! I’m curious how Fassbender would fare in this scene:

    Yeah, both actors are pretty but I thought they’re able to make Mia pretty plain looking here. It’s challenging to make Fassbender look ugly though 😉

  2. Eeee! I loved Jane Eyre. Loved it. Might have to check out this purported BBC version, too–thanks for the heads up, rtm! 🙂

    • Curious to hear what you and Sam think. I could be biased about it given my love for Dalton… but he really was amazing as Rochester. Ok, ok I’ll shut up and just let you see it for yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

