Midweek Break: Trailers Galore!!

  • THE CAPTAIN MARVEL TRAILER IS HERE. Much excitement around these parts. I love the set-up, but I will admit I was hoping for a bit more in terms of Carol Danvers as a character. I’m sure that’ll be in the next trailer. Our first real look still makes me cry every time. Why isn’t it March yet??
  • Another big trailer dropped this week! I am also pretty excited for Mary Poppins Returns and will definitely be making a trip to the theater with my daughter in December. As much as the original is a treasured piece of everyone’s childhood, the cast here is spectacular, I think Emily Blunt is perfect, and yes, even Lin-Manuel Miranda’s apparent accent shenanigans can’t really be viewed as anything but a meta-nod to Dick Van Dyke’s much-reviled Cockney take.
  • This news just broke: Cary Fukunaga will take over directing the 25th Bond movie, replacing Danny Boyle. He’s apparently the first American director to do Bond, and I think he’s a terrific choice.
  • Finally, I’m having a conversation online right now about dream-casting James Bond as a woman. The initial proposal (not by me) was Lupita Nyong’o but I’m trying to think of some other great fits. Cate Blanchett sprang immediately to mind, followed by Emily Blunt. Mostly, though, I’ve decided that they should just slide Naomie Harris (who has appeared in recent movies as Moneypenny) into the role. She’d be perfect. Who would you pick?

tux

Leave a comment