A Farewell

From FlixChatter comes word that MGM, the grand-daddy of film studios, is filing for bankruptcy. Now, most of us probably don’t pay much attention to the studio that produced the movie we’re watching, but suffice it to say you’ve probably seen a zillion of MGM’s films. Think about how many times you’ve heard that lion roar, and pause a moment.

Ruth wants to know what our five favorite MGM movies are. And I can’t precisely do that, because, well … here’s the thing. MGM is responsible for THE musical. Like, the golden age of musicals. The pretty-much-everything-Gene Kelly-ever-did musical. Plus some of the other greats, like Judy Garland and Howard Keel. So I’ve had to come up with a list of my five favorites PLUS all of the MGM musicals I’ve seen, all of which (pretty much) I adored. So here you go … and MGM? Thanks.

Five excellent movies by MGM that are not musicals:

  • The Philadelphia Story
  • North by Northwest
  • The Glass Bottom Boat
  • Spaceballs
  • A Fish Called Wanda

…and THE MUSICALS.

  • For Me and My Gal
  • Meet Me in St. Louis
  • Anchors Aweigh
  • Easter Parade
  • The Pirate
  • In the Good Old Summertime
  • Take Me out to the Ball Game
  • On the Town
  • An American in Paris
  • Singin’ in the Rain
  • Kiss Me Kate
  • Seven Brides for Seven Brothers
  • Brigadoon
  • Gigi
4 responses to “A Farewell

  1. Why thanks again for the mention… and I probably should’ve just said ‘give me your fave MGM movies’ instead of narrowing it down to 5 🙂 WOW, that is a bunch of musicals. I’ve only seen… wait, actually none [sheepish smile] Don’t kill me, but no I have not seen Singin’ in the Rain. I think my mom bought Gigi on VHS when I was a kid but never got around to watching it for some reason. Ok, if I had to start with just one or two of those, which one would you recommend?

  2. Singin’ in the Rain, absolutely. For a secondary, I would say either Kiss Me Kate (which is Shakespeare-based), or Meet Me in St. Louis. Perhaps I will play around and rank these. hehe I forgot a couple that I’ve seen, too!

  3. Sadness. 😦 ❤ MGM's movies.

Leave a Reply

