Catwoman rehash

First of all, let me just say that since I like cats, and awesome chick villains, I do, of course, love Catwoman. However, we’ve already done Catwoman, and Michelle Pfeiffer was pretty excellent, I thought. Don’t even get me started on the divine Julie Newmar. However, Christopher Nolan has decided to stick with the multiple villain formula and solve the love interest problem at the same time. Yawn.

And playing the Cat? Anne Hathaway. Really?? I just don’t see it. She’s too … fresh-faced, or something. Hard to imagine her pulling off sultry at all. So color me not particularly excited, yet again.

At least I’ve never heard of Tom Hardy’s villain, who is called Bane. Basically, he’s got super strength thanks to weird experimental drugs which he needs to take every twelve hours via tubes in his brain, or something. So says the Wikipedia, anyway.

What do you think? Are you stoked for Anne Hathaway as Catwoman? (It just sounds wrong to me.) For Tom Hardy as a new and potentially interesting villain? For yet another Batman movie in general? I swear, I’m starting to feel like the supporting cast makes these movies … how can you go too terribly wrong with Michael Caine, Gary Oldman, and Morgan Freeman involved? Ok, so I did hate The Dark Knight, but still. Michael Caine, people.

4 responses to “Catwoman rehash

  1. Glad you’re posting this so I can have my two cents in, ha! I’m sooo with you, Sam. The second I heard it on Twitter, people were all abuzz about it and most of them were rejoicing. All the while I went, huh?? I don’t see it either. She’s too ‘innocent’ looking even though she’s tried to branch out and show that she can be bad and dark, whatever, but the thing is she always comes across as TRYING to be bad. I mean, someone like Eva Green or Marion Cotillard (my first choice as Catwoman) is truly believable to be villainous.

    Tom Hardy on the other hand, I have no qualms about him 😀

  2. Pingback: Comic Book to Film 1: Catwoman | Bookstove

Leave a Reply

