Casting Couch: Superman


Mostly, I’ve been annoyed by all the Superman talk. I’m a little tired of all the comic book movies and really tired of the all “reboots”. Do something new/interesting, already. But apparently, whether or not we want it, we’ll be getting a new Superman movie in 2012, this time directed by Zack Snyder (of 300 fame).

Now then. Word on the web is that Warner Bros. and Snyder are looking to go “middle-aged,” which they define as in the 35-40 range. (I would argue that’s still a bit young to be middle-aged, actually, but whatever.) This news, to me, has a little bit of a promise. I’d rather see somebody in their prime than some young pretty guy who only has a nice set of abs to recommend him. So that’s good, I guess.

Naturally, every movie blogger who pays attention to this particular type of feature is out there, predicting the casting of this latest incarnation of the Man of Steel. And I suppose I’m not going to be any different; but that’s because I have just now, hit upon someone that I think is a very good choice.

Here’s what I’m thinking. Are you ready? You’re gonna love this.

I KNOW, RIGHT? Eric Bana! Isn’t that an amazing idea? Don’t you wish you’d thought of it? Let’s discuss.

  • Physicality: Excellent. Bana is 6’2″, according to IMDb, and is certainly buff enough.
  • Look: Let’s see. Dark hair with a curl? Check. Chiseled jaw? Check. And pardon me while I suffer a moment of distraction, considering the notion of Eric Bana in Clark Kent’s glasses.
  • Chops: Excellent. Bana isn’t exactly a household name (though he should be) but he’s got some solid acting credits to his name. You really need look no further than Munich to know that Bana is not just a pretty face.
  • Age: Ok, so Bana is 42. But I would argue that he looks younger than a lot of the people who might be considered, most notably Jon Hamm, who is only 39. I don’t think two years is a huge deal when everything else is well in line.
  • Other considerations: The only “issue” I can think of is the fact that Bana starred in the “first” Hulk movie, which wasn’t terribly well-received. However, I don’t think a whole lot of people even saw it, and with The Hulk himself getting a reboot in the form of Mark Ruffalo, why shouldn’t Eric Bana be allowed to move on?

So yeah. That’s my choice. He’s got the look, he’s got the build, and most importantly to me, he’s got the acting ability to make Superman a compelling character. Let’s put it this way: I really don’t care about a new Superman movie. Depending on who they cast in it, I will not be that interested in seeing it, but, if they cast Bana? I would be there standing in line opening night, guaranteed. I’d really like to see Eric Bana become more of a star, and I think he just hasn’t gotten the chance yet. So, Zack Snyder, if you’re out there listening, think about it, huh?

And you, readers? What do you think? Update: To convince you further, please check out FlixChatter’s companion piece, complete with Photoshopped SuperBana/Clark Kent!

10 responses to “Casting Couch: Superman

  1. Greetings! I liked your post! made me laugh! Eric Bana, unfortunately, hasn’t received too many nods from the comicbook world due to the first Hulk movie’s performance. He might be an excellent choice for the flagship of the DC universe. But I still think Jim Caviezel is better! http://scarletsp1der.wordpress.com/2010/10/05/it%e2%80%99s-%e2%80%9ctime-to-vote-tuesday%e2%80%9d17/ But, it unfortunately, is looking more and more like Jon Hamm will be the chosen one. Rumors are strongly circulating around him. We’ll see. I will put my trust in the wisdom of Christopher Nolan. πŸ™‚ Nice post!

    • Ooh, I do kind of like the Caviezel idea. But I’d rather see Bana. πŸ™‚ Yeah, I don’t get and don’t like the whole Jon Hamm idea … I think he’s all wrong. But, we shall see.

      • I like Caviezel a LOT and he’d make a good Superman, but Clark Kent? Not sure. But I can see Bana as both… the fact that he used to be a stand up comic means he can do bumbling & goofy easily.

  2. OMG!!! Girl I was thinking about the middle-age Supes casting last night and how on earth could I have left out Eric Bana??!?! BRILLIANT idea, I absolutely agree he’d make a great Superman… WAY better than Jon Hamm who’s practically everyone’s choice. You got that right, Bana’s more than a pretty face… though that FACE is indeed pretty. Oh I could just picture him with those dark-rimmed glasses… [fan myself] love chiseled men with glasses, love ’em! Snyder, I hope you’re listening!!!

    • Yay! I thought you’d like it, but I wasn’t sure. I think he is positively perfect, and of course now I will be totally disappointed with whoever they end up with. Probably would have been either way, but will be moreso now.

      • I know!! I just saw a photo that someone Photoshoped of Jon Hamm in a Superman suit. MEH! He just looks too rough somehow as Supes, I mean he does look like Alex Ross’ drawings but I dunno, I’m just not as interested in seeing him in the role. Because of you I can’t get Bana as Supes out of my head now… he is positively perfect Sam, thanks for thinking of him!

  3. I think it’s time someone photoshopped Bana as Kent and as Superman, so we can get a look-see! It’s a lot of fun going back and reading all of the discourse above! Bana vs. Caviezel vs. Hamm…sounds like a great battle. Each have their strengths. Hamm..the look. Caviezel..the capability of being Supes and softspokeness of Kent. Bana…the Kent antics. My how the plot thickens! haha

  4. You know, if I were any good at Photoshop whatsoever, I would have done that for the post, but alas.

    • I work with Photoshop all day long so I’ll see if I can find a good photo of him and do that for the world to see! Scarlet, Bana’s got them all, trust me… he and Hamm both have the look (I personally think Bana is far better looking), he has done roles where he’s soft-spoken and I know for sure he can do goofy (just see the Youtube videos of him when he was a stand up comic in Australia). And he can do American accent believably, so what else do ya need?? Sorry if I come across so overly-enthusiastic but this casting idea just gets me all riled up πŸ˜€

      • Ok, got the Photoshop job done. Look for it on my upcoming post in the next couple of hours πŸ˜€ That was fun, thanks Sam!

Leave a Reply

