Weekend Round-up

So I guess the big news of the week is this Moriarty nonsense, which I just don’t want to talk about. Hmph. I also noted to my husband the other night that I am not interested in much of anything until the next Harry Potter movie comes out, unless The Next Three Days gets amazing reviews, in which case, I will happily go watch Russell Crowe. Otherwise, I’m not jumping up and down about that one. I swear I am actually going to watch some movies this weekend, as Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day is still sitting on my coffee table, along with Smart People. We also might watch #49 (woooow) on the AFI list. So I swear, I’m still alive, and there will still be more interesting posts coming soon! I actually have a draft of something I’m working on right now. Life’s just been kind of busy.

Anyway, here’s your weekend round-up … what the critics have to say about this weekend’s openers. This week I think we’re going to spotlight the main reviewers of the New York Times. A.O. Scott is my favorite critic. His writing is never anything less than totally enjoyable, whether or not he liked the film he is reviewing. In most cases, I’d rather read his review anyway. I read Manohla Dargis and Stephen Holden less often, but they’re also excellent.

  • First we have A.O.Scott reviewing Let Me In. This one is interesting, because I know a lot of people were/are unhappy about the re-making of a recent (and very well-reviewed) Swedish film. However, Scott calls it a “worthy and honorable” remake, so that’s something, at least.
  • Ah, yes, “the Facebook movie”. I feel as though this movie is getting tons of hype, but nobody actually wants to see it. Regardless, it’s getting good critical notice, and here’s Ms. Dargis’ contribution on The Social Network.
  • Stephen Holden reviews Freakonomics, which I admit I have heard nothing about, but which sounds like it might be a fun Netflix addition later on.

Also opening this week is Case 39 starring Renee Zellwegger (and Bradley Cooper, interesting), which looks like your standard lousy horror film. Alas, Renee … what has happened to you? And what about you, dear readers? Any of this float your boat? Definitely another stay-at-home weekend for me … perhaps I’ll work on some blog posts, eh?

Leave a Reply

