Sherlock 2 news: I’m out.

Stephen Fry as Mycroft? Excellent. And, (fanfare please) Jared Harris is Moriarty!

Who?

Ok, ok, just because I don’t know who the guy is (he’s apparently on Mad Men, and is Richard Harris’ son?) doesn’t mean he won’t do a good job. But I really do think that for a villain of Moriarty’s caliber, especially opposite an actor as charismatic as Robert Downey, Jr., an A-list name would have been appropriate, and perhaps even necessary. How do you go from discussing Daniel Day-Lewis to some guy most people have never even heard of? There’s a lot of ground covered in there. Gary Oldman was busy? Congrats to Mr. Harris, really, I’m sure he’s a fine actor, but this does not instill any hope in me. Not that I had all that much before, given that the first movie was largely a disappointment, but I am even less inclined to see the sequel now than when I woke up this morning. And really, I mean, who is this guy going to bring in? Mad Men fans? I’m not belittling the show (my husband likes it) but c’mon, people.

And Stephen Fry isn’t even confirmed. Sherlock Holmes FAIL.

3 responses to “Sherlock 2 news: I’m out.

  1. I’ve been so behind on movie news due to the TCFF festivities, but this is good news, at least not Brad Pitt as Moriarty, ugh! I’ve never heard of this guy but if he’s even half as good as his dad, we should be okay. I’d love to see Stephen Fry in this movie, fingers-crossed it’ll happen.

  2. For what it’s worth, he really is fantastic on Man Men 🙂

Leave a Reply

