Trailer: Black Swan

Ok, so I normally have no interest in scary/suspenseful/creepy movies. But this particular psychological thriller is obtaining all kinds of buzz from the Venice Film Festival , including the Oscar kind for star Natalie Portman. Plus, director Aronofsky is of the “critically acclaimed” variety as exemplified by previous films like The Wrestler and Requiem for a Dream. What with all the noise, I decided to check out the trailer, and now I can’t get it out of my head. I’m not saying I’ll rush right out and see this, just that I think the trailer does an incredible job of sucking you in and making you ask questions that will rankle at you until you are forced to go see the film.

To wit:

See what I mean? I’m dying to know: Is Mila Kunis’ character real? Is Portman going crazy, or is there really something spooky going on? Is there any reason why I should feel Vincent Cassals is sort of sinister? Does Natalie Portman somehow turn into a swan?? Fascinating!

What do you think?

3 responses to “Trailer: Black Swan

  1. Not sure what to make of this trailer. Since it’s Aronofsky, it could really be a mind-bender but who knows if it will actually make sense (The Fountain lol).

  2. To my mind, having directed Requiem for a Dream–with which I was definitely less than impressed–is not necessarily an accolade, whatever the critics might think. I found it overly dramatic in making its points. However, this looks interesting. It seems a bit more cerebral, somehow, than most suspense thrillers of its dubious type.

  3. I’m working my way back through your posts. I don’t remember reading a review of this movie here, so I’m not sure if you ever did end up seeing it. I thought it was a great movie, the second best of 2010. Here’s my review (no spoilers), if you are interested.

    http://tipsfromchip.blogspot.com/2011/02/movie-black-swan-2010.html

Leave a Reply

