Slow weekend?

Due to my crazy schedule during the week and the fact that I watched my Netflix movie (From Here to Eternity) last night, I may not actually manage to watch anything this weekend. That’s not entirely true – my husband is interested in Wizard People, Dear Reader and so he’s got the download and the film at the ready. It remains to be seen if I really think I’m interested in this particular Internet phenomenon (I am often not. Yeah, I’m an old fuddy-duddy sometimes.).

It also appears to be a pretty slow weekend at the box-office. I guess the summer movie season has officially wound down, and soon we’ll be hearing about all the Oscar bait. I do so love awards season! No, seriously. Anyway, I decided that what I would do today, instead of asking you what you plan on watching, is tell you what you should watch! Or rather, respectfully make some recommendations. I’m going to go through my list of the movies I’ve seen so far this year (yeah, I keep a list) and tell you what my top five favorites are. Doesn’t that sound exciting? I know, you’re all on the edge of your seats right now. Keep in mind these aren’t just films that were released in 2010, of which I have seen very few, so the list will hopefully be a nice mix of time periods, genres, etc. So, here goes nothin’.

In no particular order:

  • Up in the Air (2009) : I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this film.  Solid acting, timely and interesting story. I don’t consider myself a Clooney fan, but I’ve been thinking about him lately, and about how he generally makes a quality movie.
  • State of Play (2009): You didn’t really think you’d get away without a Crowe film, did you? I’ve seen 4 this year, and I think I enjoyed this one the most, with Robin Hood running a close second. I haven’t seen the British TV show so I can’t comment on how they’re different, but I can say that this version is smart, well-acted (seriously, what a cast!), and enjoyably paced. And hey, even the critics liked it.
  • M*A*S*H (1970): What is there to say? It’s a classic. I tend to dread war movies a little, but I was surprised by how darkly funny this one is.  Strongly recommend, if you haven’t seen it.
  • Inception (2010): Is this still in theaters? If so, consider hitting a matinee. One of the biggest movies of the summer, I believe Inception lived up to the hype. Great cast, fascinating story …Nolan at his best.  Bring your brain. Enjoy.
  • Camelot (1967): I’m a little surprised that I’m including this one, but I really enjoyed it. Read my review here.

A few honorable mentions: The Third Man, Away We Go, Proof (reviewed), The Lion in Winter (reviewed), The Living Daylights, About a Boy.

Surprisingly more current list than I thought. Also very male-centric. Perhaps I should watch more chick flicks? Anyway, whatever you decide to watch this weekend, enjoy! And if you happen to take me up on a recommendation, let me know what you thought!

2 responses to “Slow weekend?

  1. This weekend I will be watching Transylmania.

    Have you ever seen Ink?

Leave a Reply

