Pros and cons

So, I love Shakespeare. However, The Tempest is a disappointing play. Miranda is such a poor excuse for a Shakespearean heroine! But, I love Helen Mirren. However, I am always really disappointed when people feel the need to change various characters into female ones, just because they can. It never fails to be weird and inaccurate, and just silly, because as I have argued for various other reasons, it’s not like you can’t throw a stick and hit an awesome British actor of any age bracket, really. However, supposedly Julie Taymor does a mean Shakespeare. I haven’t even watched Titus yet, despite it actually being one of my favorite plays. Perhaps I should get on that. Anyway.

The point of all this is to say that the Miramax/Taymor adaptation of The Tempest, starring Helen Mirren, Alfred Molina, Alan Cumming, Djimon Hounsou, and David Straithairn (among others, and yes, I am ignoring the involvement of Russell Brand), which had been, at one point, indefinitely shelved, now has a release date. And that is December 10. Which means I probably won’t get to see it until much later, as I have a life-altering event planned for December 5th. Sigh.

2 responses to “Pros and cons

  1. Watch Titus only when you are feeling strong. It scarred me for life.

Leave a Reply

