And another thing…

Just a momentary blip because this news is floating all over the place today and it annoys the bejesus out of me.

1. Why is it necessary to “reboot” every stupid franchise under the sun?
2. Why, after having “rebooted,” do we then feel the need to recycle all the same characters over again, with different actors, blah blah blah?

Comic book movies, I’m looking at you. The buzz amongst the so-inclined today is about the villain for the third installment of the new Batman movies. Now, I have a post in the works about why I think The Dark Knight sucked (yes, sucked), but let’s put that aside for a minute. I really liked Batman Begins. I’m a Christopher Nolan fan, I think Christian Bale does a fine job, and I thought it was a good movie. But what I particularly liked was Cillian Murphy as The Scarecrow. I thought he was scary as all get-out, and I was just so excited/intrigued to see a Batman villain that I had never heard of before. I get that there are the main ones: The Joker, The Penguin, Catwoman, and so on, but … they’re comic books. Aren’t there a zillion baddies? Plenty to go around, you’d think. In the earlier incarnation of Batman we even got down to Poison Ivy at some point. Enough with the same old bad guys. The fact of the matter is that nobody will ever be as good as everyone who played those main bad guys in the original, camptastic Batman movie. Which, if you haven’t seen, please go Netflix it immediately. I’m talking about Lee Meriwether, Cesar Romero, Burgess Meredith (man, Burgess Meredith!), and Frank Gorshin. ESPECIALLY Frank Gorshin. Yes, I get that we’re trying to be all angsty and 21st century and dark and meaningful with our comic book movies these days, and I don’t care. Leave these guys alone. Especially The Riddler.

To be fair, I thought Jim Carrey did a reasonable job of filling in, even if the rest of the whichever Schumacher tragedy that was was a mess. However, I wanted to pull my hair out a while back when the buzz was that Johnny Depp would be playing The Riddler, next go-round. Ugh. So sick of Johnny Depp being weird. So now, thanks to Inception, we are all but certain that The Riddler will be the villain next time, and that he will be played by Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Now then. Inasmuch as I like any actors under the age of thirty, I love Joseph Gordon-Levitt. I have even seen G.I. Joe. But no. Just…no. There have got to be some more villains. And if not, well, maybe it’s time to write some new ones. Or!! Hold on to your hats, ’cause this is gonna be a shocking suggestion…you ready? MAKE A MOVIE BASED ON AN ORIGINAL CONCEPT, WITH NEW AND INTERESTING CHARACTERS.

Yeah, I know. I’m a real revolutionary. Call the FBI. Sheesh.

/rant

4 responses to “And another thing…

  1. Take a deep breath, Sam… inhale… exhale… 🙂 He..he.. I totally see your point though,and you’re not alone, your rant is just one of those eloquent ones. I’m done reading speculations of who’ll be the next Bat villains… seriously, before I saw Batman Begins, I never heard of Scarecrow and I agree, Cillian Murphy was brilliant and he was menacing but not in a circus-freak-y kind of way. I’ll just let Nolan surprise us when the time comes, perhaps he should just get Batman 3 out of the way so he can write another original concept, just don’t get any more twisty than Inception or my head’ll explode!

    P.S. VERY curious to see your rant about The Dark Knight. I happen to like it, but not as much as Batman Begins. Now that one I can watch over and over again.

    • I’m ok now. Just had to get that off my chest. Still formulating the TDK post … it’s been a while, and I really don’t want to see it again, so I’m making sure I’ve got all my points down. Perhaps over the weekend …

  2. I’ll second the desire for more original movies. Even if Hollywood can’t come up with their own just now, there are plenty of book adaptations I’m sure they could work toward that are much more original than what we’ve seen lately.

  3. Pingback: News: Hope for Batman 3 yet? « Banana Oil

Leave a Reply

