Trailer: Tangled

I’m an “old-school” Disney fan. You know, the classic stuff: Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Robin Hood…I have most of them on VHS. And when I saw something about their newest, Tangled, the other day, I thought “Huh. They really haven’t already done the whole Rapunzel story? Wow.” Well, they have now, and there’s a trailer out. Check it:

It looks … cute? Apparently the voice talent features Mandy Moore, Zachary Levi (the male lead, who looks disturbingly like Adrien Brody), Ewan McGregor, Steve Martin, and Ron Perlman, which is not too shabby. One wonders if they couldn’t actually get Brody?  I like that Disney has moved away from the traditional “damsel in distress” roles, even if the “spunky girl” is starting to become a cliche of her own, and I am definitely in the “Mandy Moore is really likable” camp.  So there’s that. I also think I like the notion that the hero is not a prince, although he’s probably a “prince among men,” bearing resemblance to Aladdin in more ways than one. Yeah yeah yeah, Disney blah blah blah evil blah blah blah bad stereotypes for kids yadda yadda yadda. Laying down our agendas for a second, it looks fun. It will bear hearing what the critics have to say, and I certainly won’t go see it in the theater, but maybe I’ll ‘Flix it eventually? We shall see. Your thoughts?

3 responses to “Trailer: Tangled

  1. I’m an old school Disney fan, too, LOVE all those princesses movies even until now. My fave is Sleeping Beauty. But I’ve never heard of this one. Ha..ha.. what’s so hard about getting Adrien Brody?? Not sure if I’ll see this one, I’m more of a Pixar fan these days.

  2. Looks really really good!
    Love Disney’s Beauty and the Beast, The Little Mermaid and Sleeping Beauty.
    Can’t wait for this one 🙂

  3. judging from the first teaser it will be a positively adorable movie. Love the little green lizard or whatever it is in the movie 🙂

Leave a Reply

