Musical Moment


Forgive me some literary geekiness for a moment, won’t you? Today is the 200th anniversary of the birth of Charles Dickens, arguably the greatest English-language novelist in history. I’m a big fan. As such, I thought I’d post a Musical Moment in tribute. Obviously, this comes from the 1968 musical Oliver!, which is an adaptation of Oliver Twist. Have you read it? You should. It’s my pick for the best Dickens novel to get started with. At any rate, this is my favorite song from that show, so enjoy!

The musical: Oliver! (1968)
The song: I’d Do Anything

(Sorry about the crappy video, but it was really hard to find this particular scene. Note the incorrect title.)

5 responses to “Musical Moment

  1. One of my favorites too.! I had my chorus do an Oliver Twist medley. Also, I think Dad, Beth Weatherford and I sang a trio version of this song for some Valentine program.

  2. This was one of my favorites as well. I remember this song and loved it! Great choice. I once sang “Where is Love” from this at a concert. and loved the “Food, Glorious Food” song too!

    Great post! Oliver is a classic. thanks for it.

  3. I’ve never seen the musical for Oliver, but I’d love to considering it was directed by Carol Reed (The Third Man). I’m actually reading the novel on my Kindle right now, so I can see myself seeing this sooner or later.

  4. I really ought to go back and watch it myself. I just read the novel for the first time a couple of years ago (it’s SO great; hope you enjoy it!) and I saw the movie back when I was a kid. Oliver Reed as Bill Sikes … what can go wrong? Interesting trivia as well – I loved The Thin Man.

  5. Er, make that The Third Man. Also The Thin Man. I liked them both. :D

Leave a Reply

