15 Movies Meme


1. Movie you love with a passion: Singin’ in the Rain. It’s my favorite movie ever. It’s absolutely perfect. Have you seen it yet? Really? What are you waiting for??

2. Movie you vow never to watch: Titanic. No, really. When it came out, it was just so overhyped, to the point of being ridiculous, that I swore I would never see it. And you know, I’ve never regretted that decision. I know all about it. It’s not like I really need to see it. As much as I like Kate Winslet, I’m sure there are better films of hers that I’m missing out on.

3. Movie that left you speechless: Easy Rider. This one was on the AFI list, otherwise I’m sure we would never have watched it. Seriously, it was … awful. I don’t mean like bad movie awful, but just bleak and sad and “wow, humanity sucks” awful. Plus that too-long tripping on acid scene just seemed sort of unnecessary.

4. Movie that you always recommend: Amelie. Please see this post. And then go watch it already, geez.

5. Actor/Actress you watch no matter how crappy the Movie? Russell Crowe. Duh. I don’t feel the need to explain this to you. Peruse the blog a little bit. You’ll figure it out.

6. Actor/Actress you don’t get the appeal of? Hugh Jackman. I sort of get it? He’s hunky if you like the type. But I think he’s a mediocre actor, I don’t like his singing, and he’s just the smarmiest ever. He’s the Smarminator. Smarmy McSmarmerson. Ugh. Pass.
.
7. Actor/Actress Living or Dead, you would love to meet? Emma Thompson. Ordinarily, I don’t really want to meet celebrities. I prefer to leave their real personalities a mystery. But in Ms. Thompson’s case, I truly believe that she would be fun and down-to-earth, and we could discuss Jane Austen for HOURS, and be best friends forever. Emma, if you’re out there, call me!

8. Sexiest Actor/Actress you have ever seen? Robert Downey, Jr. I know, another shocker. I generally don’t really think of people in “sexy” terms unless I am in fact in a relationship with them. As much as I might like looking at some celebrities, I really just like looking at them, and it’s not so much about … naughty thoughts. Tee-hee! Except for RDJ. He’s special. And by “special” I mean “mind-bogglingly hot”.

9. Dream Cast? My big-budget, blockbuster adaptation of Macbeth, which would involve the following: Clive Owen, Daniel Craig, Cate Blanchett, Ian McKellen, Gerard Butler, James McAvoy, Geoffrey Rush, Derek Jacobi, Emma Thompson, Sophie Thompson, and Phyllida Law. Directed by Kenneth Branagh.

10. Favorite actor pairing? Katharine Hepburn and Spencer Tracy. They are the platonic form of chemistry. They are so subtle, so charming, so perfect. No wonder they made nine films together. Wish it had been more.

11. Favorite movie setting? San Francisco. I was originally going to say I didn’t have one, but then I thought about how much I love San Francisco, and love seeing it in movies. Those long streets filled with townhomes that slope down to the sea … the Golden Gate Bridge … Lombard Street … Aaah.

12. Favorite decade for film? The 1940s or 50s. I can’t choose. Don’t make me! Here are some films from those decades: The Philadelphia Story, Citizen Kane, Casablanca, Meet Me in St. Louis, It’s a Wonderful Life, An American in Paris, Singin’ in the Rain, Roman Holiday, Giant, Gigi, Ben-Hur, North by Northwest. See what I mean?

13. Chickflick or action movie? Tie. I don’t really consider the two to be polar opposites. I enjoy a good girly movie, and I love a good action flick. I love Angelina Jolie because she’s a chick who does action movies. They’re all equally bad or entertaining.

14. Hero/Villain/Anti-hero? Villain. I just love a good bad guy. Think Alan Rickman in Die Hard, Russell Crowe in 3:10 to Yuma. Charisma, intelligence, that sly confidence … I think that actors always seem to be having a really good time when playing a villain. Plus, they’re typically more interesting characters.

15. Black and white or color? Color. It’s just utilized so creatively, sometimes. Black and white evokes a certain nostalgia, and I do enjoy it, but I love movies where color has meaning, or where it’s super-saturated to give a sort of fantastical vibe, or just when it seems to add to the realism.

6 responses to “15 Movies Meme

  1. Ok so it seems everyone is a band wagon jumper-onner. Any room for me? Who cares! Here I come! These are fun to read. Must get in on the action.

  2. Do it! I was a little reticent at first, but it was fun to try and think things out. :)

  3. Amalie, indeed, wonderful, but He Loves Me/Loves Me Not (same actress) is better.

  4. Ah come on, everyone has seen Titanic! ;) I agree about watching everything with Russell Crowe in it, I certainly have done so since LA Confidential (and working on everything before that)

  5. Nope, never seen it. I’ve actually seen nearly everything of Crowe’s … got a few loose ends to tie up.

  6. Wahooo! Glad you’re doing this Sam. High Five on #5… well, we have the same answer :D And I’m sooo glad someone is with me about Hugh, I know I’m supposed to love him as he’s tall, dark and handsome and all that but for whatever reason I just don’t find him all that sexy. But RDJ… in that picture… woof! Naughty boys are sexxxyyy!! :D :D

    And man, I drool just looking at your dream cast… my goodness, forget Macbeth, I’d watch this movie even if the plot involves them doing household chores!!! I LOVE that you have GB, McAvoy AND Blanchett in there just like my own fantasy cast. I heart this list!

Leave a Reply

